Day One Hundred Five ~ My Florist

The iconic My Florist sign, still stands tall and beautiful on the corner of Mcdowell and 7th Ave, the only evidence of a storied past, beginning in the 40’s when the legendary Vada Schwartz established My Florist, a flower shop and earned a colorful reputation by her flamboyant style and love of the color purple and orchids. The store closed in 1996 and reopened a few years later as a restaurant, still bearing the name of My Florist, and went on to become a dining hotspot in the Willo community for many years.  Unfortunately, it did not weather the economy and closed its doors in 2010.  The building stands empty today but thankfully, the beautiful sign is still intact.

4 responses

  1. Love it! Yet another location I need to go check out. 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 10:05 pm

  2. You know, I don’t live that far from there and I’ve eaten there quite a few times but I didn’t know it had closed. That’s a shame…as well as all the other places that have tanked in recent years 😦

    April 15, 2012 at 12:48 pm

  3. AWESOME!!! You know… I was thinking that sign looked like something from the 40’s… then I read your comment… 🙂

    What a wonderful icon… I hope it stands for another 70 years! 🙂

    April 15, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    • I know! Let’s hope so….

      April 17, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

